OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County
CATHY ALLEN DARLING
Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

March 5, 2015

The Honorable Janet Nguyen, Author State Capitol, Room 3048 Sacramento, CA 95814

SB 366 (NGUYEN) -SUPPORT

Dear Senator Nguyen:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for SB 366, which expands the pool of qualified and certified translators to translate ballot and voting material. Currently election officials may only use translators from a local Superior Court or those certified by a single association of colleges and universities. By adding translators certified by other accrediting agencies to the list of qualified translators, election officials will be able to reduce costs and time delays in getting balloting materials to voters.

This bill gives needed flexibility and options to election officials across the state in meeting the needs of California's diverse voting populations.

We urge passage of SB 366. Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Monofue

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Senator Allen, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments

Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee

Cory Botts, Republican Caucus Consultant

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee